A Dinner Roll Worthy of Indulgence

Thanksgiving Dinner RollsI don’t know about you, but I love bread. Sometimes I daydream about those long-ago days when I didn’t count calories or believe strongly about adhering to a vegetable-dominated diet. The days of innocence, where I could consume a loaf of bread without a thought. Like I said, loooooong-ago. I was ten.

Needless to say, I am really looking forward to eating bread on Thanksgiving. So, that dough better be good. A dry, mediocre roll is not going to cut it.

I made these rolls for our Thanksgiving dinner last year, and I loved them so much that I am planning on bringing them back for an encore performance.

If you want a hearty, doughy roll – look no further. Actually – don’t take my word for it. I would hate to ruin your Thanksgiving dinner. So maybe you should give them a test run this week and decide if you love them like I love them.

One of the best things about these rolls is that you can make them ahead of time, freeze them and then pop them in the oven on Thanksgiving day. One less task for the actual day!

My Thanksgiving Dinner Roll Recipe:

Ingredients:

4 cups organic all purpose flour (I like King Arthur)

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup Kalona Supernatural organic vanilla yogurt (with the cream top)

3/4 cup Kalona organic whole milk (with the cream top)

Almost 1/2 cup canola oil (you can use sunflower oil or grapeseed oil if you prefer)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix flour and baking powder in a large bowl.

Add yogurt, salt, milk, and oil, and knead into soft dough (I used the dough hook of my KitchenAid mixer). Don’t overmix – the dough will get too sticky.

Form dough into rolls – I did 9 large rolls, but you can adjust size and number for your party

Cut a cross into the top of each roll and brush with a little bit of milk. At this point, you can add seeds or oats to the top if desired.

Bake for 18 minutes. They will still be slightly doughy, which makes them perfect for freezing and then reheating on Thanksgiving.

Reheat at 350 degrees for approximately 15 mins.

And – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

